MEGAWORLD to develop township in Palawan

ANDREW Tan-led Megaworld Corp. is pouring in P40-billion to develop a 462-hectare beachfront property in Palawan.

Megaworld plans to develop the Paragua Coastown in San Vicente, Palawan in the next 10 to 15 years, as an eco-tourism township.

Kevin Tan, Megaworld chief strategy officer, said the company is committed to preserving the island’s biodiversity.

“As we grow our sustainable developments portfolio, this new township in the beautiful town of San Vicente in Palawan will showcase the best of sustainable tourism and green living. While we transform it into a world-class development, we also commit to the preservation of the island’s biodiversity,” Tan said.

The company, the 27th township  of Megaworld, will feature some of the most beautiful beaches along the coastline of San Vicente, including Port Barton, a tourist attraction known for its 22 small islands.

As part of the development, Paragua Coastown will have hotels and resorts, health and wellness sanctuaries, cultural center, a boutique hotel district, a shophouse district, residential developments, private villas, serviced apartments, themed residential villages, and a mangrove reserve park.  

The first phase of development is the 83-hectare land in Kemdeng, which has its own beach line.

The town of San Vicente is known to have the longest white-sand beach in the Philippines, and the second longest beach in Southeast Asia, which is called the Long Beach, covering almost 15-kilometers of coastline – three times longer than Boracay’s White Beach.

“More than just sustainable tourism, our vision for this expansive Palawan property is to provide an opportunity to those who want the island-life to live and even raise their families here. Aside from the preserved natural surroundings of the beach, mountains and cliffs of San Vicente, we will also provide the facilities and amenities for holistic wellness for our future residents,” Tan also said. 

Some of Megaworld’s 26 other townships are found in Quezon City, Binondo, Manila, Paranaque, Pasig, Davao, Pampanga, Paranaque, Antipolo, Rizal, Trece Martires and Tanza, Cavite, Cebu, Iloilo, Batangas, among others.

Photo courtesy of Megaworld