Developers take home 8th PropertyGuru Phl awards

This year’s edition of the PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards honored the archipelago’s outstanding developers, projects and designs in a special virtual gala and awards ceremony held last November 25.

The 2020 PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards marks the eighth anniversary of the country’s leading real estate awards.

The Awards recognized the finest development companies in Metro Manila and the rest of Luzon as well as homegrown development companies in Visayas and Mindanao.


Sy-owned SM Development Corp. (SMDC) bagged eight wins at the event, including the coveted accolades of Best Developer and Best Lifestyle Developer.

Alveo Land, a subsidiary of Ayala Land, won six awards, including the top prize of Best Condo Development (Philippines) for its premium condominium development Portico and the regional prize of Best Condo Development (Visayas) for Solinea, its multi-tower residential project in Cebu City.

Wee Community Developers Inc. dominated the program with nine wins, including the award for Best Breakthrough Developer, acknowledging a comprehensive portfolio of high-quality projects spanning Metro Manila and provincial markets. The Diamond Heights, one of its latest projects in Davao City, scored the top prize of Best Housing Development (Philippines) while its Iloilo project Emerald Estates scored a regional prize for Best Housing Development (Visayas).

Harbour Park Residences, its recent venture with Metroworx Properties Inc, was named Best Affordable Condo Development (Metro Manila).  

Homegrown Davao developer Damosa Land Inc. garnered eight wins, including the sought-after title of Best Boutique Developer. The company scored wins for three of its biggest projects in the Davao region: the housing development Ameria; office development Damosa Diamond Tower; and township development Agriya.

The company’s agro-industrial arm Anflo Industrial Estate Corp. won Best Industrial Development for its eponymous project.

Grand Land Inc., the real estate development arm of Cebuano retailer Gaisano Grand Group of Companies, gained Best High End Condo Development (Metro Cebu) for Dusit D2 Residences Cebu and Best Housing Development (Metro Cebu) for City Homes Minglanilla. Another Cebu-based enterprise, JEG Development Corp., clinched the title of Best Commercial Green Development for JEG Tower @ One Acacia.

Jules Kay, PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards and Events managing director

Asiawide Land, the fast-growing real estate company based out of Bataan, won Best Housing Development (Luzon) for its Atrium De Tarlac – Donabelle project.


Hari Krishnan, CEO of PropertyGuru Group, said that for the last eight years, their marks of excellence have been shining a guiding light on homeownership, tenancy and investment decisions in the Philippines.

“We’re so proud that in its eighth year, our awards program has diversified to acknowledge innovative, sustainable, well-designed projects not only in the vibrant capital but also in stellar provincial markets throughout the archipelago.”


Edgar Saavedra Megawide Chairman and CEO

The 8th PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards also recognized Edgar Saavedra, chairman of Megawide Construction Corp, who received this year’s Philippines Real Estate Personality of the Year title. This award is decided by the editors of PropertyGuru Property Report Magazine.

Saavedra said: “We are very proud and honoured to have this award. I want to dedicate this to all my team, especially Megawide, and the whole organisation for helping me build the company and achieve this milestone.”

One of the Philippines’ leading infrastructure developers, Megawide is part of the consortium that built Terminal 2 of the Mactan Cebu International Airport (MCIA), which won Special Recognition for Public Facility at the 2018 PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards.

“We want to show to the whole world that there is a Filipino company that can build First World infrastructure development,” Saavedra also said.

This year’s shortlist of nominees was the product of a judging process rigorously supervised by the team of BDO Roxas, Cruz, Tagle & Co., CPAs, led by Michael Roxas, Chairman and Managing Partner and International Liaison Partner, and Jarred Pereña, Partner.

The independent panel of judges consists of Christophe Vicic, Awards chairperson and country head, Jones Lang LaSalle Philippines, Inc.; Carlo Cordaro, president & CEO, Atelier A; Cyndy Tan Jarabata, president, TAJARA Leisure & Hospitality Group Inc.; Jaime Cura, vice-chairman, The RGV Group of Companies; Jean Jacquelyn Nathania de Castro, CEO, ESCA Incorporated; Kathleen Obcemea, principal interior designer, KPO Beyond Designs Co.; Mario Berta, CEO, FlySpaces; and Ramon Fernando Rufino, CEO of NEO.